Genie B6172H vs 6072H-O Wall Mount Openers: Which Is Better? (October 2026)
Choose the B6172H for built-in Aladdin Connect and battery backup; choose the 6072H-O if you want a wall mount opener without battery backup. Both are rated for residential doors up to 850 lb and 14 ft tall.
On this page (9 sections)
Choose the B6172H for built-in Aladdin Connect and battery backup; choose the 6072H-O if you want a wall mount opener without battery backup. Both Genie models are rated for residential doors up to 850 lb and 14 ft tall.
The main difference in this Genie B6172H vs 6072H-O comparison is the B6172H's stated Wi-Fi control and backup battery. The 6072H-O includes a wireless wall console, remote, LED light and automatic door lock, but its features don't specify built-in Wi-Fi or battery backup.
Best for smart control and backupGenie B6172H wall mount smart opener
Genie B6172H vs 6072H-O: what separates them?
The B6172H adds Aladdin Connect and battery backup; the 6072H-O keeps the wall mount design and core accessories. Both attach beside the door's torsion spring, leaving the ceiling open.
The B6172H lets you monitor, open and close the door from a smartphone through Aladdin Connect. It also works with Amazon In-Garage Delivery, Alexa, Google Assistant and SmartThings.
The 6072H-O includes a wireless wall console, wireless LED light, Intellicode remote and automatic door lock. Its stated features don't include battery backup or built-in smart control.
If you're comparing wall mount designs more broadly, see our guide to Genie vs Chamberlain wall mount openers. For the space and door tradeoffs, read whether wall mount garage door openers are better.
Which Genie opener fits your door?
Either model may fit a compatible residential door up to 850 lb and 14 ft tall. Confirm your door type, area and spring arrangement before choosing.
Both support standard, high-lift and vertical-lift doors. The B6172H also gives a maximum door area of 180 sq ft and says it supports high lift up to 84 in.
The B6172H won't work with reverse-wound springs, extension springs, one-piece doors or low-headroom outside hookups. Check your exact setup against the installation instructions instead of relying only on the door's weight and height.
What clearances should you measure?
The 6072H-O specifies 2.5 in above and 7 in to the side of the spring tube. Both models require a standard outlet within 6 ft of the opener.
Measure the spring area and outlet location before ordering. If the wall, door hardware or nearby storage limits that space, ask a qualified installer to assess the setup.
Our guide to choosing a garage door opener explains how door type and mounting style affect your options. For a broader look at wall mounted designs, see our picks for the best jackshaft garage door openers.
Is battery backup worth choosing?
Choose an opener with battery backup if you want the door to keep operating electronically during a power outage. The B6172H and 6072H-B include backup; the 6072H-O does not specify it.
The B6172H combines backup with Aladdin Connect. The 6072H-B is another Genie wall mount option with backup, while the 6072H-O is the choice among these models without a stated backup battery.
Consider how you enter and leave the garage if the power goes out. Backup can be useful when the garage door is a main entry, but it doesn't replace a working door, compatible installation or routine maintenance.
Does the B6172H's smart control matter?
Aladdin Connect matters if you want smartphone monitoring and control built into the opener. The B6172H supports that feature and names Alexa, Google Assistant and SmartThings among compatible platforms.
The 6072H-O's stated accessories focus on local controls: a wireless wall console and remote, plus an automatic door lock. If remote app access is essential, compare the smart features before settling on that model.
Smart home compatibility can depend on the rest of your setup. Check Genie's current instructions for the platform and connection you plan to use.
What do you get with each model?
The B6172H includes battery backup and Aladdin Connect; the 6072H-O includes a wireless console, light, remote and automatic lock. The accessory mix may matter if you're replacing an existing opener.
The B6172H includes a 3-button pre-programmed remote, battery backup, wireless wall console, wireless LED light, Aladdin Connect Wi-Fi technology and automatic door lock.
The 6072H-O includes a wireless LED light, wireless wall console, Genie remote and automatic door lock. Both models use a compact wall mount layout that removes the ceiling rail and powerhead.
Which Genie wall mount opener should you choose?
Pick the B6172H for app control and battery backup; pick the 6072H-O if you don't need those stated features. Choose the 6072H-B if you want backup in the 6072H family.
Before deciding, check spring compatibility, door size, required clearance and outlet distance. If you want to compare other Genie models, our guide to the best Genie garage door openers can help you explore the range.
The B6172H is the more feature-rich match for a compatible door when remote monitoring and outage operation matter. The 6072H-O covers the wall mount basics with included controls, while the 6072H-B adds battery backup.
Product comparison
| Product | Best for | Door capacity | Door height | Smart control | Our score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Genie B6172H wall mount smart opener | smart control and backup | Up to 850 lb | Up to 14 ft | Aladdin Connect Wi-Fi | 8.7 |
| Genie 6072H-O wall mount opener | a simpler setup | Up to 850 lb | Up to 14 ft | Not specified | 7.9 |
| Genie 6072H-B wall mount opener with battery backup | backup without built-in Wi-Fi | Up to 850 lb | Up to 14 ft | 7.5 |
Genie wall mount opener options

Built-in Aladdin Connect and battery backup suit a compatible garage where you want app access and outage operation.
See it on Amazon
A wall mount option with a wireless console, remote, LED light and automatic door lock.
See it on Amazon
Choose this related 6072H model if you want battery backup included.
See it on AmazonRelated reading
- Genie vs Chamberlain wall mount openers
- Are wall mount garage door openers better?
- Best jackshaft garage door openers
- Best Genie garage door openers
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between the Genie B6172H and 6072H-O?
The B6172H includes Aladdin Connect Wi-Fi and battery backup, while the 6072H-O is described with a wireless wall console, remote, LED light and automatic door lock. Both are rated for residential doors up to 850 lb and 14 ft tall, with standard, high-lift and vertical-lift compatibility.
Does the Genie 6072H-O have battery backup?
The 6072H-O does not include battery backup in its listed features. If backup during a power outage is important, compare it with the B6172H or the 6072H-B, both of which include battery backup.
Does the Genie B6172H work with Alexa?
Yes, the B6172H's Aladdin Connect feature works with Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings and other smart home platforms. Check that your home Wi-Fi and preferred setup meet Genie's instructions before relying on remote control.
Will either opener fit my garage door?
Both are rated for residential doors up to 850 lb and 14 ft tall, with support for standard, high-lift and vertical-lift doors. The B6172H also specifies a maximum door area of 180 sq ft.
Check spring type, clearances and the installation manual before choosing.
What should I check before buying a wall mount opener?
Confirm that your door uses a compatible torsion spring setup, then measure the spring area, nearby outlet and wall space. Wall mount models don't fit every door; the B6172H specifically excludes reverse-wound springs, extension springs, low-headroom outside hookups and one-piece doors.
About this guide: Our look at Genie B6172H vs 6072H-O wall mount openers draws on maker specs, materials and what owners report. See how we research.



